Skip to main content
Sponsored Link

Here is the list of artists who made it to parliament

By Michael Nampala 18 Jan 2021 03:38 PM EAT

Ugandans went to the polls on Janaury 14, 2021 to elect their favorite representatives right from the President, Member of Parliament and Woman MP.

President Museveni won a 6th term in office, beating his closest rival pop star singer Bobi Wine, real name, Robert Kyagulanyi. 

Follow us on Google News

Subscribe to our YouTube channel

Rema Namakula's manager now an MP

Artists who have made it to parliament

Geoffrey Lutaaya for Kakuuto, Dr. Hilderman for Mawookota and Rachael Magoola for Bugweri Woman MP

Sponsored Links

President Museveni won with 58.64%, followed by Bobi Wine with 34.83%.

Dr. Hilderman

A number of artists had expressed interest in the parliamentary seats now that Bobi Wine was in the race for the top office, some emerged victors like Dr. Hilderman (Hillary Kiyaga) of the Mazongoto fame,  he trounced the Minister of Trade, Industry and Cooperatives Amelia Anne Kyambadde for the Mawokota North in Mpigi District.


Geoffrey Lutaaya

Geoffrey Lutaaya will also join parliament after winning the slot for the Kakuuto County in Kyotera District. The 'Oli Miss' singer and his wife Irene Namatovu thanked the voters after he was declared a winner, they were seen grooving to Eezzy's Tumbiza sound to celebrate the moment away.

Rachael Magoola

You all know her for the Ombagaina hit. The veteran Afrigo Band singer, Rachael Magoola is now the Bugweri Woman Member of Parliament.

Geoffrey Kayemba

He is not an artist, but he manages singer Rema Namakula. Geoffrey Kayemba is now the new Bukomansimbi South Constituency member of parliament.

Rema's manager adds that he will continue taking on calls of those wanting to book Rema for a performance. "Don't think that because I am now a Honourable, I will stop doing my other jobs, this is just a duty to serve my people, but I will continue doing my work both in sports and entertainment."

On January 20, 2021, we are yet to see who will become Kampala's next Lord Mayor between Ragga Dee and Chameleone if they happen to unseat the current Lord Mayor Erias Lukwago.



Uganda Online Entertainment News

Uganda Online Email    Copyright © 2024 UgandaOnline.Net- All rights reserved.

Privacy PolicyDisclaimer 

We use own and third-party cookies to generate statistics on the use of the website in order to identify errors and improve the content and configuration of the website. We also use our own and third-party cookies to remember certain options you have chosen (language, for example) and to show you advertising related to your preferences, based on a profile drawn up from your browsing habits (for example, from the web pages you have visited).